Damn Dogs

Yesterday, I was expecting my husband to come home early from work because SXSW traffic is crazy and he wanted to get on the road before people started drinking (he rides a motorcycle). I am expecting him home by 4 o’clock, I have big plans; we’ll go to the gym, make a healthy dinner at home (eating out is our weakness) and then we’ll relax. 

By 6:30 he isn’t home, so I text to make sure he is okay. He went to the Harley dealer because he’s been wanting to by a new bike. Pretty inconsiderate to let me worry (and ruin my plans – now I’m hungry), but I let it go. Around 7:00ish all hell breaks loose.

Our puppies, Pebbles and Bamm-Bamm are literally about to kill each other. Image

Bamm-Bamm has her collar wedge behind all of his teeth and is strangling Pebbles. They are screaming and crying, flailing around, rolling over each other. As soon as they start screaming I try to unhook her collar from his mouth, but it’s not budging and I notice blood in his mouth. I start scrambling to find the scissors. When I rush back over to cut her collar off, Bamm-Bamm tries to take them both behind the couch, uh no, I would’ve been in seriously deep shit then. I am finally able to cut the collar off and they both immediately rush behind the couch and I have no idea if they are okay. I know I’m pretty hysterical at this point. 

I call Devin (my hubby) in a panic because I can’t tell if they are okay and our couch weighs a ton. Being pregnant I’m not supposed to lift heavy stuff, wah. He comes home (still at Harley) thinking they’re both bleeding to death, sees the blood on my shirt and flings the couch out like it weighs nothing. 

Bamm-Bamm has a small nick below his eye where Pebbles must have caught him with a tooth, but otherwise they are totally fine; just a little shaken up. 

Turns out, the blood was mine. In my quest to get her collar out his mouth, my hands got chewed up and bloody. Adrenaline is wonderful.

So needless to say, we didn’t make it to the gym, we ate Chick-fil-A for dinner and watch old episodes of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Epic Fail. We did learn a valuable lesson though, no collars in the house. 

Here’s hoping tonight will be less stressful and more productive.

Leave a Reply

